Brigidok Monastery - Monastery of the first Lutsk female Catholic Order; a monument of architecture of national importance, located on 16, Katedralnaya Street, in the historical and cultural reserve.
Part of the building was given to the service station, which damaged the architecture with additions. The facade is not in the best condition. The site of great historical significance is a convent for men and women, a former prison where thousands o.. Read more »f political prisoners were shot by NKVD members. There are still many bones in that and the surrounding land.
The place is very old, the friar who welcomed us was very young, he told us that there are few of them and that they manage to survive with the alms of visitors, we were inside the building and we saw that the structure is falling apart, action shoul.. Read more »d be taken as soon as possible.
They ask questions to improve their work and you know where they are
Restoration is required.
The house looks a little tired. It's time to restore it a bit.
A neglected place needs repair
Already half-destroyed facade - fungus and plaster fly away. The roof is flowing. Repairs inside at their own expense
In its own way, historically, however, it is a pity that it is not restored !!!
A monument of national importance is located near the castle. This is a brigade of monks - representatives of an ancient female Catholic order, who arrived in Lutsk in the early seventeenth century and settled in the palace donated by Lutsk and Lithu.. Read more »anian Chancellor Stanislav Albrecht. Over time, they completed it and founded a monastery there with a church. The construction work was completed in 1642, thus attesting to the construction of a Baroque-style St. Brigitte church and the remodeling of the palace under the cell, which in particular included windows overlooking the river. There was a school at the monastery where the children of nobles and wealthy burghers studied. In 1724, there was a fire that caused considerable damage to the church and the monastery. However, with the support of the Bishop of Lutsk, Stefan Rupnevsky, the Order was restored to damaged premises. In a city fire in 1781, the brigade complex was again damaged by fire. Numerous donations to the church and monastery have been restored, but have been reconstructed in the classicist style. In addition, during the reconstruction a large wall was erected, which enclosed the monastery from the city. The turning point in the monastery's existence occurred in 1845. Then there was a small fire in the brigade complex. For its extinguishing the townspeople came, but they were detained by a large wall. The nuns refused to let people into their territory to extinguish the fire. As a result, the fire ignited and spread to other buildings of the city, which caused the largest fire in Lutsk in all history, during which many houses, state institutions were damaged, as well as all the churches and monasteries of the island part of Lutsk. Compensation for the damage to the city was the confiscation of the premises of the monastery and the church and all the interior utensils. Thus, the monastery was no longer existent, only the premises remained.
There used to be a nunnery here, before the big fire in Lutsk, which started from this place, but the manager of the monastery forbade the entrance to the territory, as a result of which more than 300 houses burned down. During the war, the building .. Read more »was a prison for political prisoners of the communist and Nazi regimes, resulting in a lot of human bones underground in and around the area. An estimated 2,000 people were killed in the prison.
Now there is a men's monastery on the territory, in the yard there is a motor depot. The building is in disrepair, but according to locals this year for the grand money of the European Union the monument should be restored.
The monastery building is in a terrible state. The current 5 monks brought the monument to the pen. The walls are affected by the fungus, the monks insert plastic windows, which will only intensify the destruction. In addition, the plastic windows lo.. Read more »se the authentic appearance of the architectural monument of national importance. The same monks prevented firefighters from putting out the fire in 2016.
The second part of the monastery is given to private companies with an unsuitable profile of activity, in particular, service stations. In both cases, tourists do not have the opportunity to see in detail the monument outside and inside.
The building must be made available to the reserve administration for restoration and tourist use.